Image by Dimitri Houtteman

Missionary Care (Member Care)

Most Chinese churches take care of "missionaries" (Missionary Care, also known as Member care). Common people's understanding of caring is workshop visits, conversation greetings, or holiday greetings. But missionary care is far beyond these. If missionary care is more than just chatting about homework and greetings, what other aspects are included?

Missionary care

Purpose and responsibility

Missionaries

Health insurance

Missionaries

Children education

Radiant International

First of all, we must understand that the purpose of the missionary's care is not to make the missionary "happy" in the workplace, but to make him and his family healthy in body, mind, and spirit. It means that he doesn't feel frustrated or difficult occasionally, but he has stronger resilience than others in terms of recovery.

This caring responsibility does not fall entirely on the church or the mission: missionaries themselves should learn how to rely on the Lord who called him on the one hand, and manage faithfully on the other in a cross-cultural environment. His physical, mental, and spiritual needs. In their book published in 1972, missionary care experts Kelly O'Donnell and Dave Pollock have a chart that clearly sets out the importance of different levels of care (see figure). This picture shows that the most important thing is the Lord's care. The second thing is self-care and mutual care between the missionaries in the workshop, and so on.

As the name suggests, the first layer is care from God. This is the most indispensable link, which means that every missionary must have the ability to establish an intimate relationship with the Lord so that he can obtain the necessary nutrients and strength from God. Without this most central care, other support will be useless.

The second layer is "self-care" and "mutual care". Missionaries must understand their bodies and have the basic common sense to maintain health, and practice them. Because of their hard work, Chinese missionaries lack knowledge and practice in this area. On the other hand, people need companions. "Care for each other" refers to the mutual support and care of the missionaries in the workshop. They do not necessarily belong to the same team, but they can have fixed worship, prayer, fellowship sharing, etc.

The third level and above are the care provided by family members, missions or churches. The care of the mission is like the support provided by the company, and it is mostly administrative or transactional. Such as arranging children's education, health insurance, accommodation, etc. The church is like a family, caring about the spiritual life of missionaries and asking for warmth.

Purpose and Responsibility of Missionary Care

 
Stethoscope on the Cardiogram

Missionary health insurance

The fields where intercultural missionaries are located are usually places with poor medical conditions and huge spiritual battles. They are often under unspeakable pressure, coupled with the busyness of the ministry, the challenges of self-support, and often overwork. . Since September 2019, GIU has supported 28 families in the field, as well as health insurance for 6 single missionaries, so that they and their children can go to the nearest doctor when they need to see a doctor. We have supported more than US$60,000 in health insurance costs for the entire year of 2019-2020. Please continue to provide for the needs of the coming year. Your support and dedication will help the missionary family have a healthy body to serve in the field!

 

Education for children of missionaries

The biggest challenge in the minds of intercultural missionaries is to leave their elderly parents and not be able to take care of them, and how to get their children to receive a comprehensive education in the field. GIU not only cares about the personal growth of missionaries, but the husband and wife are of the same mind, but also cares about the education of missionaries' children. It is well aware that the cultivation of the next generation of talents is crucial, and it is hoped that children can inherit the strong faith of their parents and walk together for two generations on the road of mission. At present, we have claimed and supported 34 educational subsidies for the children of missionaries in the field.

  • Dedication to support a child's tuition $100/month

  • Support them to continue to receive Chinese education

  • Support them to strengthen their English education

  • The church can organize short-term mission teams or provide online courses for children of missionaries

Image by Markus Spiske
 
pic2.png

​Partnership

with

Radiant International

  1. Provide training: to consolidate and strengthen the care of GIU missionaries at the two most important levels: "cared for by the master" and "self-cared for". This includes participating in the preliminary screening, training before arriving at the workshop (self-knowledge, family, culture, spiritual warfare, understanding the challenges in cross-cultural life and basic understanding of different aspects of crisis management, etc.), continuous training after arriving at the workshop (consolidating the preliminary The foundation of training also expands practical topics in the workshop, such as child education, building resilience, ministry building, team building, etc.). We work with other organizations to provide appropriate training.

  2. Provide pastoral care and introduce professional care: Just as we have resources at home for work, family and friends relationships, and children’s education, missionaries also need resources in all aspects to help them live a healthy life in the workplace. The problem is that the places where missionaries go are generally countries that are not ideal in terms of the objective environment: political and economic instability, almost zero believers, and inadequate education level with their own country. Under long-term high pressure, my health, marriage, children's education, medical care, and ministry development all need support and care from the rear.

Radiant International co-workers regularly visit different workshops to visit local missionaries. It will also assist in linking appropriate rear resources, providing intercession teams, preparations for retreats, marriage counseling, child education subsidies, and personal interviews. The purpose is to hope that the missionaries in front will not fight alone and can serve in the workshop effectively and lastingly. We continue to care for each worker, contact them regularly to communicate, and care for their marriage, family and ministry needs. Thank God, we have a lot of communication tools, and we can maintain relationships and continue caring from a distance.

 

Radiant International is a non-profit organization 501(c)(3)

Vision: We have seen many Chinese missionaries shine among the unreached, and fulfill the Great Commission effectively with abundant lives.

Mission: We equip, guide and care for Chinese missionaries to have long-term cross-cultural service among the unreached.

If you or your church are moved and want to know our ministry, you are welcome to contact us ( contact@radiantinternational.org ). I look forward to cooperating together on care. We generally refer to "cooperation", which generally refers to mutual benefit at work. But the Greek word koinonia used to describe "partnership" in the Bible has a rich meaning. It contains fellowship, sharing and sharing, and has the meaning of close connection. God calls the whole church to do missions, not just the workers ahead. May the front and the rear of us agree with each other and obey the great commission that God has issued to us.

Subscribe to receive latest news!

© 2020 Galilee International US

Image by Dimitri Houtteman

宣教士關顧

大部分華人教會對「宣教士關顧」(Missionary Care,又稱 Member care)。一般人對關顧的理解是工場探訪、談話問安,或節日問候。但宣教士關顧遠超這些,如果宣教士關顧不只是閒聊家常、問候,那還包含哪些方面呢?

宣教士關顧的

目的與責任

宣教士

健康保险

宣教士

子女教育

Radiant International

首先,我們要明白宣教士關顧的目的,並非是讓宣教士在工場上過得「快樂」,而是讓他和家人的身、心、靈盡能健壯。意思是他並不是不會偶而感到受挫或感到困難,而是在康復方面,比其他人有更強的抗逆力(resilience)。

這關顧的責任,並不全落在教會或差會的身上:宣教士本身也應當學會如何在跨文化環境中,一方面全然依靠那呼召他的主,另一方面也要忠心的管理好他身、心、靈方面的需要。宣教士關顧專家Kelly O’Donnell和Dave Pollock在1972年出版的書中有個圖表,清晰列明關顧角色不同層次的重要性(見圖)。這圖顯示最重要的,是主的關顧。次要的便屬自我關顧和工場宣教士之間的彼此關顧,如此類推。

 

顧名思義,第一層是從神而來的關顧。這是最不可缺的一環,意指每位宣教士要有能力與主建立親密關係,以致能從神獲取需要的養分和力量。如果缺少這最中心的關顧,其他的支援,都形同虛設。

第二層是「自我關顧」(self-care)和「彼此關顧」(mutual care)。宣教士們必須了解自己的身體,及擁有維持健康的基本常識,並切實去實行。華人宣教士因為刻苦耐勞,對這方面的認識與實踐比較欠缺。另一方面,人是需要同伴的,「彼此關顧」是指在工場與宣教士們的彼此支援和關顧。他們不一定屬同一個團隊,但能有固定的敬拜、禱告、團契分享等。

第三層以上皆屬家人、差會或教會所提供的關顧。差會的關顧像是公司給予的支援,多是行政或事務性方面的。比如安排子女教育、健康保險、住宿等等。教會則像家人,關顧宣教士的屬靈生命、噓寒問暖。

宣教士關顧的目的與責任

 
Stethoscope on the Cardiogram

宣教士健康保险

跨文化宣教士所在的禾场通常都是医疗条件落后,属灵争战巨大之地,他们常常承受无以名之的压力,再加上事工的忙碌,自养的挑战,常常出现过劳的情况。GIU从2019年九月份开始支持禾场28个家庭,以及6个单身宣教士的健康保险, 让他们和他们的孩子可以在需要看医生时就近就医。 2019-2020一整年的健康保险费用我們共支持超过了6万美元,求主继续供应来年的需要。您的支持与奉献将帮助宣教士家庭在禾场有健康的身体服侍!

 

宣教士子女教育

跨文化宣教士心中最大的挑战莫过于离开年老的父母,无法亲侍左右,以及在禾场如何能让他们的儿女接受整全的教育。GIU不只关怀宣教士个人成长,夫妻同心,更关怀宣教士的子女教育,深知下一代人才的培育至关重要,期盼儿女能承传父母坚固的信仰,在宣教的路上两代同行。目前我们一共认领支持了34个在禾場宣教士子女的教育补助费。 

 

  • 奉献支持一个孩子学费$100/月

  • 支持他們繼續接受中文教育

  • 支持他們強化英文教育

  • 教會可以組織短宣隊或提供網路課程給宣教士子女

Image by Markus Spiske
 
pic2.png

​合作夥伴:

Radiant International

  1. 提供訓練:鞏固與加強 GIU 宣教士在最重要的兩個層次上的關顧:”被主關顧“ 和 “自我關顧”。這包括參與前期篩選、抵工場前的訓練(自我認識、家庭、文化、屬靈爭戰、認識跨文化生活裡的挑戰和危機處理不同方面的基本認識等)、抵工場後的持續訓練(鞏固前期訓練的根基,也擴展工場上實用的課題,比如孩子教育、建立抗逆力、事工建立、團隊建立等) 。我們和其它機構合作為了提供合適的訓練。

  2. 提供牧養關顧,介紹專業關顧:就如我們在家有工作、家人和朋友的關係、孩子教育等的資源,宣教士在工場也同樣需要各方面的資源去幫助他們過得健康。問題在於宣教士所去的地方,一般都是客觀環境來說不理想的國家:政治和經濟不穩定、信徒幾近零、教育程度不能與本國銜接等。處在長期高壓之下,自身的健康、婚姻、孩子教育、醫療、事工發展各方面,都需要後方的支援與關顧。

Radiant International 同工,會定期去不同的工場,探望當地的宣教士。也會協助連結合適的後方資源,提供代禱團隊、籌備退修會、婚姻輔導、補助孩子教育、個人約談各方面的支援。目的是希望前方的宣教士,不至於孤軍作戰,可以有效持久的在工場服事。我們繼續地關心每一個工人,定期聯繫他們溝通,關懷他們的婚姻,家庭和事工上的需要。感謝神,我們有不少的溝通工具,從遠處也可以保持關係,繼續關懷。                           

 

Radiant International是非盈利机构 501(c)(3)

願景:我們看見許多中國宣教士 在未得之民中綻放光芒,以豐盛的生命,有效地完成大使命。

 

使命:我們裝備指導及關顧中國宣教士在未得之民中有長期效力的跨文化服侍。       

 

如果您或您的教會有感動,想知道我们的事工,歡迎您與我們聯絡 (contact@radiantinternational.org)。 很期待可以一起在關顧上合作。我們一般提到「合作」,都泛指工作上的互利互惠。但聖經裡用來形容「合作」(partnership) 的希臘文 koinonia,帶著豐富的意思。它包含著團契、分享分擔、有著緊密連結的意義。神呼召全教會去做宣教,並不只呼召去前方的工人。願我們前方後方同心合意的,一起遵從神頒布給我們的大使命。

訂閱最新消息

© 2020 美國國際加利利 Galilee International US